Renowned traditional Irish music group, Lunasa was formed in 1996. They play a mixture of traditional tunes and modern compositions in contemporary arrangements, while remaining deeply traditional. Their music is centred around the rhythmic duo of bass/guitar.

 In the beginning,  John McSherry on pipes and Michael McGoldrick  on flute joined Séan Smyth (fiddle) Donogh Hennessy (guitar) and Trevor Hutchinson (bass)

Cillian Vallely and Kevin Crawford  replaced McSherry and McGoldrick. Donogh Hennessey left the group in 2006, to be replaced by Tim Edey and Paul Meehan.



Lunasa Discography

  • Lúnasa (1999, 2001)
  • Otherworld (1999)
  • The Merry Sisters of Fate (2001)
  • Redwood (2003)
  • The Kinnitty Sessions (2004)
  • Sé (2006)
  • The Story So Far… (2008)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.